Cinemalaya 2016 Winners Announced

Cinemalaya 2016 has come to an end and it culminated with the awards ceremony held at the Cultural Center of the Philippines just now, August 14, 2016.

Below is the list of winners. The results are based on the taste and standards set by the well-known Philippine Independent Film festival that has changed the landscape of the local cinema since it was started almost a decade ago.


Cinemalaya 2016 WinnersBest Film: Pamilya Ordinaryo
Special Jury Prize: Pamilya Ordinaryo & Mercury is Mine
Best Director: Eduardo Roy Jr., Pamilya Ordinaryo
Best Actor: Tommy Abuel, Dagsin
Best Actress: Hasmine Killip, Pamilya Ordinaryo
Best Supporting Actor: *male ensemble*, Hiblang Abo
Best Supporting Actress: Lolli Mara, Ang Bagong Pamilya ni Ponching & Elizabeth Oropesa, I America
Best Screenplay: Jason Paul Laxamana, Mercury Is Mine
Audience Choice: Tuos

We will do our best to review some of the films in our next posts but as per the jurors, these are the films worthy of an award.

Photo by Mj De Leon.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s